Overall rating 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 93 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
30
3 stars
17
2 stars
10
1 star
12
Price 
3.8 / 5
3.8 / 5
Quality 
3.2 / 5
3.2 / 5
61 of 92(66%)reviewers recommend this product.
Overall rating 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 93 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
30
3 stars
17
2 stars
10
1 star
12
Price 
3.8 / 5
3.8 / 5
Quality 
3.2 / 5
3.2 / 5
61 of 92(66%)reviewers recommend this product.
Product Reviews
Click on filters to refine your results.
Ratings summary
Overall rating 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 93 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
30
3 stars
17
2 stars
10
1 star
12
Price 
3.8 / 5
3.8 / 5
Quality 
3.2 / 5
3.2 / 5
61 of 92(66%)reviewers recommend this product.
Authentic Reviews Authentic Reviews
Tags
and Pros
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
and Cons
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
Advanced filters
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
and Price
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
Click on filters to refine your results.
Product ReviewsReview This Product
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Rather Good Geodes!
PostedNovember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
honeybeeisme
 
Please wait while more information about honeybeeisme is loaded.
Additional information about honeybeeisme could not be loaded.
from Florida
Occasion:Other
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am a Den Leader for a Webelos den. We were working on our activity pin for Science, and I needed to show how crystals are formed. These were perfect! I was surprised that for the price these geodes were really nice! They were a good size, cracked rather easily (w/ the help of an adult), and all were very pretty. Out of 12 we only had 3 that had any real crystals, but the boys thought the geodes were amazing anyway and were really excited to see what "surprise" would be inside. For the price you can not beat these geodes! I have bought them at other sites for TWICE the money and they were smaller and NO crystals at all. For the price these are a really, really good deal! I will buy more for stocking stuffers for the kids... and dare I say some adults! Fun item!
Pros: Educational, quality, Child's Favorite, Age appropriateness
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Fun for Kids
PostedApril 22, 2009
Customer avatar
River Rat
from Anaheim, CA
Occasion:Classroom or daycare
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I am a first grade teacher and for Open House we learn about a mountain and all it's parts, some of it's animals, etc. During our Open House the children get to go to mountain centers and collect one thing from each area they learned about. The Break Your Own Geodes are the thing they can collect in the Rocky Tundra. We put one in a baggy and staple directions to the front. The children take them home and break them open with their families to find their "surprise" inside. Every year they are a big "hit" with the children and their parents. We have been doing this for at least 6 years and we get good reviews every year! I highly recommend these and hope Oriental Trading continues to carry them for years to come.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The kids loved these!
PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
mami1
 
Please wait while more information about mami1 is loaded.
Additional information about mami1 could not be loaded.
from Richmond, TX
Occasion:Children's party
Interests:Education Planning
Number of Kids:1
Age of Child:10-12
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
There were beautiful crystal formations inside every one of them!
Pros: Educational, quality
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Worth It
PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
mommysha
 
Please wait while more information about mommysha is loaded.
Additional information about mommysha could not be loaded.
from Torrington, CT
Occasion:Classroom or daycare
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I bought these for my daughter's 4th grade class and we were very happy. We bought extra so that every child could break one (13 kids in her class). We tried out a couple at home so we would know what to expect. The first one was VERY difficult to open and was solid throughout, but you could see crystals. The second and third one we tried were beautiful; hollow with lovely crystals with nice color variation (white, grey, amber). Glad we had extra because if they picked one that was very difficult to break I let them pick another one. They loved using the hammer and taking a whack at the sock. Each child got a very good crystal, I think. Note that you really do need to use an old sock as it definitely got holes in it. Great activity and I would definitely recommend it.
Pros: Educational, quality
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Very poor quality
PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
cubscoutmom145
 
Please wait while more information about cubscoutmom145 is loaded.
Additional information about cubscoutmom145 could not be loaded.
from Clear Lake, WA
Occasion:Other
Interests:Party & Event Planning
Number of Kids:1
Age of Child:10-12
Price 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Quality 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I purchased these for a school project and they are definitely NOT worth the money even though they are CHEAP .... I thought it was worth a try but it was NOT. Very hard to crack even for my 10 Year Old and the crystallization is dark and hard to see. They are about the size of a small bouncy ball.
VERY DISAPPOINTED
Cons: quality, size
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Good value but not small
PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Arvadamom
 
Please wait while more information about Arvadamom is loaded.
Additional information about Arvadamom could not be loaded.
from Colorado
Occasion:Children's party
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
These geodes were considerably less expensive than others I had seen when trying to find geode's for my 7 year old's birthday party guests to smash. So it makes sense that they were also quite small. The boys had fun smashing them, and about 80% were actually geodes but most of those shattered into small pieces. There were a few rocks in the bag that did not smash and were not geodes. Overall fine for a fun party activity but not the way to go if you want to end up with a substantial specimen.
Pros: Child's Favorite
Cons: size
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Nice option
PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
gidger98
 
Please wait while more information about gidger98 is loaded.
Additional information about gidger98 could not be loaded.
from Findlay, OH
Occasion:Children's party
Interests:Crafts & Hobbies
Number of Kids:1
Age of Child:5-6
Price 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Quality 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Using there for a dino exhibition party. I was happy to find these as an option, but was a little disappointed on the small size. Also, that it said that it's possible only 90% would have crystals inside. I would have appreciated knowing this before ordering, so that I could have ordered some extras. I don't want to disappoint some children, if they are empty.
Pros: Educational, Age appropriateness
Cons: Assembly, quality
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Poor quality
PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Sumsum
 
Please wait while more information about Sumsum is loaded.
Additional information about Sumsum could not be loaded.
from Virginia
Occasion:Classroom or daycare
Interests:Education Planning
Number of Kids:More than 6
Age of Oldest Child:Over 18
Price 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Quality 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Was trying something new to get kids interested in rock types. Thought geodes would be fun. The sample I was sent had four dirt clods, three too small to crack open and the rest either splintered into unrecognizable pieces of mess or were nearly empty. Out of all of them only one split into three pieces and had the tiniest amount of just formed crystals. Yes. Just one had crystals. It was a big disappointment to the class.
Pros: Educational
Cons: quality
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
fun to break
PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
PattyMomTeacher
 
Please wait while more information about PattyMomTeacher is loaded.
Additional information about PattyMomTeacher could not be loaded.
from Santa Barbara, CA
Occasion:Other
Number of Kids:More than 6
Age of Oldest Child:Over 18
Age of Youngest Child:10-12
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
My daughter circled geodes in a catalog as something she wanted, but they were 3 times the price of these. She was so excited to break one open. She was a little disappointed to find they were clear crystals inside. I guess she expected amethysts or something. My older daughter took a couple to share with her college friends. There's just something so exciting about hitting a rock with a hammer and discovering a mystery inside.
Pros: Educational
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Great idea for eveyone
PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
idaclown
 
Please wait while more information about idaclown is loaded.
Additional information about idaclown could not be loaded.
from Knoxville, TN
Occasion:Children's games and activities
Interests:Other
Number of Kids:1
Age of Oldest Child:Over 18
Age of Youngest Child:Over 18
Age of Child:Over 18
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My 6 yr &10 yr old granddaughters love this! I bought a bag for Christmas and they enjoy breaking the geodes and finding "jewels". My husband has been helping and I think he likes finding the treasures too. I am ordering more already!
Pros: Educational, quality, Child's Favorite, Age appropriateness
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.