Overall rating 
3.4 / 5
3.4 / 5
(57)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
13
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
9
Price 
3.8 / 5
3.8 / 5
Quality 
3.2 / 5
3.2 / 5
38 of 55(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Overall rating 
3.4 / 5
3.4 / 5
(57)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
13
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
9
Price 
3.8 / 5
3.8 / 5
Quality 
3.2 / 5
3.2 / 5
38 of 55(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Product Reviews
Click on filters to refine your results.
Ratings summary
Overall rating 
3.4 / 5
3.4 / 5
(57)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
13
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
9
Price 
3.8 / 5
3.8 / 5
Quality 
3.2 / 5
3.2 / 5
38 of 55(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Authentic Reviews Authentic Reviews
Tags
and Pros
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
and Cons
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
Advanced filters
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
and Price
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
Click on filters to refine your results.
Product ReviewsReview This Product
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Rather Good Geodes!
PostedNovember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about honeybeeisme is loaded.
Additional information about honeybeeisme could not be loaded.
from Florida
Occasion:Other
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am a Den Leader for a Webelos den. We were working on our activity pin for Science, and I needed to show how crystals are formed. These were perfect! I was surprised that for the price these geodes were really nice! They were a good size, cracked rather easily (w/ the help of an adult), and all were very pretty. Out of 12 we only had 3 that had any real crystals, but the boys thought the geodes were amazing anyway and were really excited to see what "surprise" would be inside. For the price you can not beat these geodes! I have bought them at other sites for TWICE the money and they were smaller and NO crystals at all. For the price these are a really, really good deal! I will buy more for stocking stuffers for the kids... and dare I say some adults! Fun item!
Pros: Educational, quality, Child's Favorite, Age appropriateness
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Good project
PostedJune 8, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about nenedeb is loaded.
Additional information about nenedeb could not be loaded.
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
These work well for the Cave Quest VBS and I recommend them for this.
Pros: Age appropriateness, Educational, Child's Favorite
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Fun for kids
PostedJune 7, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about CadiMom is loaded.
Additional information about CadiMom could not be loaded.
from Duluth, MN
Occasion:Children's games and activities
Number of Kids:3
Age of Oldest Child:Over 18
Age of Youngest Child:5-6
Price 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Quality 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Thought my kids would love this and they did. Most were easily broken w/ a hammer in a sock, but they do shatter. Unfortunately, they weren't very pretty. Some solid ones and mostly white or clear crystalized zones. The ones we rec'd were all offwhite exterior and no more than about 1 inch in diameter.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
About 50% had crystals inside.
PostedMay 31, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about hh521 is loaded.
Additional information about hh521 could not be loaded.
from Orange, MA
Occasion:Classroom or daycare
Interests:Education Planning
Number of Kids:More than 6
Age of Oldest Child:10-12
Age of Youngest Child:10-12
Price 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Quality 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Each year, I use these in my fifth grade geology unit. The kids love wearing safety goggles and breaking open the rocks. We do not use socks or covering. It's easier to break them that way. The inside sometimes holds crystals and sometimes is solid rock. Although sometimes disappointed, the kids still love to break them. Only about 50% actually had caverns and crystals this year.
Pros: Age appropriateness, Educational
Cons: only half had crystals inside
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Kind of
PostedMay 1, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about FTReynolds is loaded.
Additional information about FTReynolds could not be loaded.
Occasion:Children's party
Price 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Quality 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
We used these at a child's birthday. When we hammered they tender to break in many pieces.
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Great!
PostedApril 30, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about JOYZ is loaded.
Additional information about JOYZ could not be loaded.
from Las Vegas, NV
Occasion:Classroom or daycare
Interests:Education Planning
Number of Kids:1
Age of Child:7-9
Such a great product to culminate our Rocks unit! Thank you!
Pros: quality, Educational
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Very small and very few crystals inside
PostedApril 21, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about MississippiAunt is loaded.
Additional information about MississippiAunt could not be loaded.
from Ocean Springs, MS
Occasion:Other
Number of Kids:None
I would gladly have paid more for larger geodes. some of these were actually large pebbles, not rocks. Very few crystals and only in a couple of the geodes.
Cons: quality
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Excellent Product
PostedMarch 30, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about MasonsGrandma is loaded.
Additional information about MasonsGrandma could not be loaded.
from New England
Occasion:I bought this on a whim
Interests:Crafts & Hobbies
Number of Kids:3
Age of Oldest Child:Over 18
Age of Youngest Child:Over 18
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
SO cool! My little geologist LOVED them!
Pros: Child's Favorite
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Not good.
PostedMarch 21, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about Grampy is loaded.
Additional information about Grampy could not be loaded.
Interests:Crafts & Hobbies
Number of Kids:1
Age of Child:5-6
Geodes were very small. None were 2 inches as advertised. Very poor quality. I would never purchase again.
Cons: quality
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Response from Oriental TradingBy  Quality Assurance Department June 13, 2016
We don’t like that our Break-Your-Own Geodes let you down. Since we like smiles, (smiling’s our favorite) we’re always committed to making you happy and we appreciate feedback that will help us get better. If you are not 100% completely psyched with your order, just give us a shout at 1-800-228-2269 and we will turn that frown upside down with a no hassle exchange or refund. We hope to see you soon!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
The package said 90% would be crystal but it was really about half.
PostedOctober 10, 2015
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about Tammy16 is loaded.
Additional information about Tammy16 could not be loaded.
Number of Kids:3
Age of Oldest Child:Over 18
Age of Youngest Child:Over 18
Price 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Quality 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Needed the amount I bought for an elementary school as an object lesson.
Pros: Educational
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
  • 2016-06-30 T18:00:29.642-05:00
  • bvseo_pps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_57, tr_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_9_535, prod, sort_default
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.