Oriental Trading Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Oriental Trading
Shop Teaching Supplies & Stationery_Curriculum Projects & Activities_Dramatic Play or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for 12 Plastic Castanets

12 Plastic Castanets

Get everyone in to the party spirit with these Plastic Castanets! Place these colorful castanets on your fingers and and click them together to add rhythm to any song. These fun castanets are perfect for a classroom activity, band or music class. Includes finger loops. 2"
Overall rating:
2.818 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
5 of 10(50%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for 12 Plastic Castanets
Review 1 for 12 Plastic Castanets
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Fun Event Gift

PostedMay 15, 2011
Customer avatar
LikesToEntertain
Occasion:Adult party
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
We used these castanets and tambourines (from another site) as props and gifts for an after Opera dinner party. "Carmen" was the opera and the castanets were a hit! They are meant for children so the elastic was QUITE tight. However, they were perfect for our use.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 12 Plastic Castanets
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

All 12 Did Not Work

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer avatar
poollady71
from Dallas, TX
Occasion:Children's party
Interests:Party & Event Planning
Number of Kids:2
Age of Oldest Child:10-12
Age of Youngest Child:3-4
Price 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Quality 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I ordered 12 of these, and all 12 were tied together so loosely that you could not use them at all. Disappointing.
Pros: Age appropriateness
Cons: quality
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 12 Plastic Castanets
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

half of them didn't work-had to tighten strings on all of them

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer avatar
suesi
from new rochelle,ny
Occasion:Children's games and activities
Interests:Education Planning
Number of Kids:None
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
half of the castanets did not work. i had to tighten the strings on all of them. i would not buy them again.
Pros: Child's Favorite
Cons: quality
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 12 Plastic Castanets
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Castanets hard to hold

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer avatar
TrinityC
from Trinity C
Occasion:Classroom or daycare
Price 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Quality 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
These are difficult to hold. You have to hold them by a piece of leather that ties them together.
Pros: Educational
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 12 Plastic Castanets
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Takes some effort to make these work

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Drewsmom
Occasion:Other
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
These come tightly tied together and you have to untie the elaastic bands and retie them to a size that will actually allow your fingers to slip in them. And to tie and untie them takes some nimble fingers! If you have corporal tunnel do not attempt this! So much effort but if you can do it they work fine.
Pros: Age appropriateness
Cons: Assembly
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 12 Plastic Castanets
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

poor quality

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
skylark63
Price 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Quality 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Because these looked like castanets I already have in my classroom, I assumed they were similar and would be adequate. However, they were not. They are completely limp without any tension in them as my others have, so that you can click them together. The elastic was too short to attempt to retie and make them more usable. I returned these.
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 12 Plastic Castanets
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Satisfied

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer avatar
lsnw
Occasion:Classroom or daycare
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
These are nice castanets when the ties are adjusted to fit a finger.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 12 Plastic Castanets
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Poor Quality

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
PreKTeacher27
Occasion:Classroom or daycare
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I bought this product for my preschool classroom, and was disappointed to find that the elastic was loosely fitted and badly frayed. I needed to retie them and burn the edges of the elastic to keep them from falling apart. There were no finger loops, as described.
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 12 Plastic Castanets
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Castanets

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Rakkeh
Occasion:Other
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I bought these an an inexpensive alternate to finger cymbals for a belly dance class. As is, the castanets don't spring open very well. I ended up cutting out the piece of elastic which holds the castanet together and gluing flat elastic on the outside of each half. This will work for what I need them for.
Pros: price
Cons: quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 12 Plastic Castanets
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Good for the price

PostedMay 18, 2010
Customer avatar
monkee
Occasion:Other
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
They work just take some time to get used to. Finger loop is quite small though.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 12 Plastic Castanets
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Very satisfied.

PostedFebruary 13, 2010
Customer avatar
SurfingMomma
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
These are durable and an excellent value for the price. I particularly like that as they age you can simply tighten the elastic to make them "snappier". I also like that being made of durable smooth plastic they can be completely wiped down with clorox wipes following each use in class. The kids really enjoy them and I am glad I made this purchase.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.