Overall rating 
2.3 / 5
2.3 / 5
(22)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Overall rating 
2.3 / 5
2.3 / 5
(22)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Product Reviews
Click on filters to refine your results.
Ratings summary
Overall rating 
2.3 / 5
2.3 / 5
(22)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Authentic Reviews Authentic Reviews
Tags
and Pros
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
and Cons
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
Advanced filters
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
Click on filters to refine your results.
Product ReviewsReview This Product
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Not happy at all.
PostedJune 29, 2017
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about EASTWOOD is loaded.
Additional information about EASTWOOD could not be loaded.
from Cleveland, OH
I have spent hundred's of dollar's with OT and every single package I receive has something broken or missing pieces. I was so excited to do these kite's with my client's. Every single one of the pole holder's is defective. There is supposed to be two open holes and there is only one. I can't even make a second hole on the other side to rig the kites. Garbage.
Cons: Assembly
Response from Oriental TradingBy Quality Assurance DepartmentJuly 5, 2017
We're very sorry that our DIY Kites didn't work as intended. We're committed to resolving this and appreciate feedback that will help us improve our products and your experience. If you'd like to return your DIY Kites, please give us a call at 1-800-228-2269 for a no-hassle exchange or refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Do Not Recommend
PostedMay 28, 2017
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about TeachFirstGradeinMA is loaded.
Additional information about TeachFirstGradeinMA could not be loaded.
Bought these for my class. The longest poles are too short to assemble the kites correctly! Such a shame. Don't waste your money.
Cons: quality
Response from Oriental TradingBy Quality Assurance DepartmentJune 14, 2017
Hello, hello! Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your insight into ways we can improve your experience with Oriental Trading Company. We are 100% committed to delivering fun, safe and affordable products that make all your celebrations and big occasions extra special! If you would like to speak to a friendly human, simply give us a ring at 1-800-228-2269 and we’ll get you squared away with a no hassle exchange or full merchandise refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Just OK
PostedMay 5, 2017
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about jodjohns is loaded.
Additional information about jodjohns could not be loaded.
from Detroit, MI
The instructions on were confusing on how to put together.
Also, the only markers that didn't smear, even after drying for an hour, were Sharpies. The big box set from Oriental Trading that is advertised on the same page did not ever dry and continued to smear and get all over my hands.
I haven't tried it outside but it does seem like it will fly, so that is good.
Pros: works
Cons: Assembly, quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Worked for what I needed
PostedOctober 26, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about CadetteLeader is loaded.
Additional information about CadetteLeader could not be loaded.
from Tucson AZ
Occasion:Children's games and activities
Interests:Education Planning
Number of Kids:More than 6
Age of Oldest Child:13-15
Age of Youngest Child:10-12
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I bought these for my middle school aged Girl Scout Troop to learn about design, construction, and modification. Neither the kites nor the Scouts didn't let me down. The low star and not-so-great reviews seriously helped with my decision to purchase. My Cadettes conquered!
Pros: Educational
Cons: quality
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Fun if you can make it and fly it. Many could not
PostedJuly 24, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about RECASoCo is loaded.
Additional information about RECASoCo could not be loaded.
from Santa Rosa, CA
Occasion:Classroom or daycare
Interests:Education Planning
Number of Kids:More than 6
Fun project. However, we had to have the older kids make them for the younger kids. We then went out to fly, but, even though we had a perfect breeze, many could not fly. They broke very easily.
No photos because the preview showed only a small portion of the photo.
Pros: Educational
Cons: Assembly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Get Delta Wing Kites Instead!
PostedJune 12, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about Kraftbyer is loaded.
Additional information about Kraftbyer could not be loaded.
Occasion:Other
Interests:Crafts & Hobbies
I've been waiting for DIY kites from this company forever and am glad to see that you now have them. These diamond kites however are worse than useless. If there's any way you can get DIY delta wing kites in, I would buy them for all my camp groups.
I've purchased DIY delta kites from other sources and not only are they easy to assemble/decorate but THEY ACTUALLY WILL FLY and with almost no effort. Hope to see delta wing kites being offered at this site in the future.
Cons: quality, Assembly, won't fly
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Decent for the price
PostedMay 9, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about 11bevvie is loaded.
Additional information about 11bevvie could not be loaded.
Occasion:I bought this on a whim
I bought this for an "in case it rains" activity for my grandchildren's visit. They are 5 years old. There were 4 adults and 2 children. We all decorated them with thick Sharpie markers. The adults put them together, which was a little bit complicated. I added longer tails and some ties on the tails because of the reviews I had read when I purchased them. We did need to adjust a couple of the lines to get them to fly. All in all, they were fun to decorate and fly all at the same time. The whole idea was to do a group activity with all of the parents, grandparents, and kids. We did that and had fun while we were doing it.
I would suggest that you assemble one and test fly it prior to the time you plan to use these.
Pros: Age appropriateness
Cons: Assembly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Poor
PostedMay 6, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about kelcgerv is loaded.
Additional information about kelcgerv could not be loaded.
Occasion:Classroom or daycare
Price 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Quality 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
These kites were hard to put together and broke very easily. I bought them for my 5th grade art class and they were nearly impossible for them to put together. These kites are a good idea but I wish the quality was better...
Cons: quality, Assembly
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Cute, but don't fly very well
PostedMarch 24, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about Kandlelitangel is loaded.
Additional information about Kandlelitangel could not be loaded.
Occasion:Children's party
Interests:Family Fun Activities
Number of Kids:2
Age of Oldest Child:7-9
Age of Youngest Child:1-2
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I bought these for my daughter's birthday party as favors/entertainment for the older kids. They seemed simple enough to assemble (took a little bit of figuring out by the adults, but not bad), and they were easy for the kids to color. When it came time to fly the kites, we couldn't get a single one up in the air! We had several regular kites that went up without a problem, but these have short tails, and just don't go up easily. They would work well if you were using them for decoration, but if you would like them to be actually air-born you might be disappointed. (Or need to be be prepared with different tails and supplies to make them work better maybe)
Pros: Assembly, Age appropriateness, multi-age friendly
Cons: quality, didn't fly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Worst purchase so far
PostedMarch 15, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about Josephina is loaded.
Additional information about Josephina could not be loaded.
from Chicago
Occasion:Other
Interests:Party & Event Planning
Number of Kids:More than 6
Price 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Quality 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
First off, I would like to say that I have never had a problem with anything I've ordered from here. I ordered the kites for my 3rd grade girlscout troop. I thought it would be a fun spring project. I was wrong....The kites come individually wrapped and one of them was missing the connector. In the past they have always given extra pieces for all the crafts. Not this time.....on top of that, 5 out of the 10 kites broke while assembling them. I know kids can be rough. But it happen to be 2 adults as well. The rivets/plastic piece that hold the sticks in, broke way too easily and are made very poorly. Luckily I have some of the best girls ever. They were so excited to be making them and not as disappointed as I was or expected them to be. Any other child would have cried. Unfortunately, you get what you pay for here.
Pros: Child's Favorite
Cons: quality, Assembly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
  • 2017-08-18 T01:59:57.180-05:00
  • bvseo_pps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_48_6348, prod, sort_default
1 2 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.