Overall rating 
2.9 / 5
2.9 / 5
(26)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Overall rating 
2.9 / 5
2.9 / 5
(26)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Tropical Suncatcher Craft Kit Product Reviews
Click on filters to refine your results.
Ratings summary
Overall rating 
2.9 / 5
2.9 / 5
(26)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Authentic Reviews Authentic Reviews
Tags
and Pros
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
and Cons
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
Advanced filters
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
Click on filters to refine your results.
Product ReviewsReview This Product
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Great for all ages, but requires some prep-time.
PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about 1067FRG is loaded.
Additional information about 1067FRG could not be loaded.
from Phoenixville, PA.
Occasion:Other
Interests:Crafts & Hobbies
Number of Kids:More than 6
Age of Oldest Child:15-18
Age of Youngest Child:1-2
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We always buy crafts from oriental trading, for our military events, because of the cost, quantities, and quality. We had 90+ kids attending the picnic, and this was a great addition to our other kids' activities. Just a heads up though, you need time to get this ready. Each "pen" is individually wrapped. Then, you have to unscrew each cap, unscrew each nozzle, remove a little plug, then place nozzle and cap back on. So there was more prep work than anticipated -- and when you order multiple sets, you need to set some time aside to do this. Kids did this craft on their own, but they needed supervision, as a few younger ones proceeded to squeeze mountains of goo on their sun-catchers, wasting the pens.
Pros: quality, Age appropriateness, Child's Favorite
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Instructions not included - Adult supervision recommended
PostedJune 26, 2017
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about GrandmaSally is loaded.
Additional information about GrandmaSally could not be loaded.
from Indiana
These sun catchers and paint are good quality and can be completed by children age 3 and above with a little supervision, but be ware of opening the paints. There are no instructions to tell you to screw off the tip after you remove the cap and remove the little plug inside the tube, then reattach the tip. My granddaughter was the first to discover the interior plug after squeezing the tube hard enough that the paint spurted out all over her shirt, her face, her glasses, and her hair - what a shock! And the paint doesn't come out very easily. Same paint is included in the camp name tags.
Pros: Age appropriateness, quality
Cons: lack of instructions, difficult to clean up
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
for older kids or supervised
PostedJune 20, 2017
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about TWeb is loaded.
Additional information about TWeb could not be loaded.
from Fresno, CA
no instructions included. Paint comes out too fast. Projects turned out messy for 8 year olds.
Cons: no instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
What a mess!
PostedJune 19, 2017
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about SplashMin is loaded.
Additional information about SplashMin could not be loaded.
from Yucaipa, CA
The pens did not come ready to use, there were no instructions that said you needed to poke a hole in the end of the pens. Several of the kids in my group tried to use the pens, squeezed them and the paint went everywhere, including their clothes and mine. I had upset parents and a mess everywhere. The paint does not wash out! Beware - make sure you try them out before your event so that the paint does not make a mess.
Pros: sun catchers were cute
Cons: no instructions, not ready to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Paint pens ruined craft
PostedJune 7, 2017
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about madjar is loaded.
Additional information about madjar could not be loaded.
from florida
We bought this craft for an end of the year luau party. The actual Sun Catchers are very cute although they did not come with any string or suction cups to hang to a window. The worst problem was the paint pens that came with the kit. Many of them were missing the inner nozzle so when the kids squeezed them the paint exploded out everywhere in hair on the desks all over. We just used regular markers and they came out nice. As a long-time customer of Oriental Trading I was very disappointed in the quality of the paint pens.
Pros: Age appropriateness
Cons: quality, cheap paint pens
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Not Recommending it AT ALL
PostedJanuary 26, 2017
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about MamaCBear is loaded.
Additional information about MamaCBear could not be loaded.
from Portland, OR
Occasion:Children's party
Price 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Quality 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Purchased this for my child's birthday party as a craft activity for 18 kids. The paint was all stuck together. It also had a very toxic smell, similar to what other reviewers mentioned in previous posts. When we opened the cap, some oil came out as well. Out of all the paint tubes, we were only able to use 1. We ended up throwing out the paint tubes and the craft since it was unusable. Should the paint have been usable, i can imagine it being very fun. However, this was not the case with our experience. I do not recommend this product.
Cons: quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Good activity but not for children
PostedAugust 1, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about EH543 is loaded.
Additional information about EH543 could not be loaded.
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
The paint doent come off the clothes.
Pros: Assembly
Cons: Age appropriateness, Assembly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Great day camp craft
PostedJune 21, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about GirlScoutLeader204 is loaded.
Additional information about GirlScoutLeader204 could not be loaded.
from Nebraska
Occasion:Children's games and activities
Interests:Crafts & Hobbies
Number of Kids:2
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I bought these for use at a day camp, I had girls from age 5 to 15. They all really liked the project. I liked that everything came together and I didn't have to get separate paints. The pens do require unwrapping and the plug removed, but we managed. Even my non-crafty child said she liked those, and we should do it again. I did order suction cup hooks to go with these.
Pros: Assembly, Age appropriateness, Educational
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
ehhh..mixed
PostedJune 14, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about foolchaser is loaded.
Additional information about foolchaser could not be loaded.
Occasion:Children's party
Number of Kids:2
Age of Oldest Child:7-9
Age of Youngest Child:3-4
The suncatchers were a big hit, but the paint less so. I had as much trouble with the paint as the 7 and 8 year olds. It was hard to control, messy, and weeks later still sticky. They certainly didn't dry in time for anyone to bring home despite allowing several hours. It was hard to wash off hands, and I'm still waiting for word if there is anyway to get it off clothing. The catchers themselves were lovely, but markers would have been far better all around than this paint. (Hanging hooks might have been nice too, but I knew those were not included from the start.)
Cons: quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Poor quality. Markers do not cover well
PostedApril 11, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about Pket is loaded.
Additional information about Pket could not be loaded.
from ct
Occasion:Children's games and activities
Interests:Crafts & Hobbies
Number of Kids:More than 6
Age of Oldest Child:15-18
Age of Youngest Child:3-4
Price 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Quality 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
have used items like this before. Markers do not cover well. look horrible.
Pros: Age appropriateness
Cons: quality
Response from Oriental TradingBy Quality Assurance DepartmentMay 12, 2016
We don’t like that our Tropical Suncatcher Craft Kit let you down. Since we like smiles, (smiling’s our favorite) we’re always committed to making you happy and we appreciate feedback that will help us get better. If you are not 100% completely psyched with your order, just give us a shout at 1-800-228-2269 and we will turn that frown upside down with a no hassle exchange or refund. We hope to see you soon!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
  • 2017-09-26 T16:52:43.041-05:00
  • bvseo_pps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_26, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_48_5847, prod, sort_default
1 2 3 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.