Overall rating 
3.8 / 5
3.8 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Price 
3.9 / 5
3.9 / 5
Quality 
3.6 / 5
3.6 / 5
9 of 13(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Overall rating 
3.8 / 5
3.8 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Price 
3.9 / 5
3.9 / 5
Quality 
3.6 / 5
3.6 / 5
9 of 13(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Product Reviews
Click on filters to refine your results.
Ratings summary
Overall rating 
3.8 / 5
3.8 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Price 
3.9 / 5
3.9 / 5
Quality 
3.6 / 5
3.6 / 5
9 of 13(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Authentic Reviews Authentic Reviews
Tags
andPros
  • and
andCons
  • and
  • and
  • and
Advanced filters
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
and Price
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
Click on filters to refine your results.
Product ReviewsReview This Product
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
love it
PostedApril 20, 2009
Customer avatar
butterfinger
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The butterflies are wonderful for the seniors with special needs. We have a monthly party for seniors with Alzheimer's, Parkinson's, stroke and Dementia. Crafts are one of the things they really like to do and these are fun, easy and turn out beautiful when finished.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
No tissue paper included
PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Jedimom67
 
Please wait while more information about Jedimom67 is loaded.
Additional information about Jedimom67 could not be loaded.
from Weymouth, MA
Interests:Education Planning
Price 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Quality 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Should have read very closely that this project did not include the tissue paper. Also, the mylar/acetate sheet is not self-advhesive, so you have to make this glue glaze. Makes a huge mess and takes a long time to do. The foam frames come all squished and bent and do not match well to sandwich the frame with. Takes time and a lot of patience, and make sure you buy tissue paper or you cannot complete the craft.
Pros: pretty when done
Cons: Age appropriateness, Assembly, incomplete kit
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Very pretty but messy
PostedMarch 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Charmama
 
Please wait while more information about Charmama is loaded.
Additional information about Charmama could not be loaded.
from New Jersey
Occasion:Children's games and activities
Price 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Butterflies are beautiful and do resemble stained glass but it is a messy project. Glue glaze must be made (glue mixed with water) and then brushed over tissue paper cubes. Drying time was extensive too because if the tissue paper is not dry and you flip the butterfly over the tissue pieces get stuck to whatever surface you are working on and pull off. I would definitely recommend this project but know what you are in for...ages 7+
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
disappointing
PostedJuly 6, 2009
Customer avatar
dnt
Price 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Quality 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
This could be a cute project, but the foam pieces arrived all mangled. I spent hours trying to flatten them out so I could use them for VBS.Some are not usable. I haven't used them with kids yet, but I plan to do it over two days to give the first step drying time.
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Watch Age Appropriate
PostedJune 6, 2009
Customer avatar
Jolly
from Kansas
Occasion:Household
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
My girls enjoyed it for the most part, but got bored with it when it was time to put together the frame around the butterfly. They just didn't quite match up with the plastic. It was easier to use a hot glue gun to make it all work.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
For older kids
PostedJune 2, 2009
Customer avatar
skyqueen
 
Please wait while more information about skyqueen is loaded.
Additional information about skyqueen could not be loaded.
from Portland, OR
Occasion:Children's party
Price 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Quality 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I bought this for a bunch of 8 year olds to do. I did a sample kit first and it was lovely. The kids did it the next day and it was a gluey mess. (despite my ample preparations and them using waxed paper 'mats' to work upon)
This craft needs to be done in 2 parts. Part 1 is the tissue paper part. Once that is dry, then you can put the foam frame around.
I did mine in one day with the parts drying indoors and taking a couple hours each time. I put the kids' crafts outside in paperbox lids to dry in the sun and it dried in closer to 10 minutes.
When it came time for the frame, the kids just aren't old enough to do it themselves just yet.
The pink butterflies are cockeyed and so the frames only fit one way on the butterfly making it extra difficult for children to recognize the subtle importance.
The kits came neatly packaged. While the foam frames were bent, it was easily 'fixed' by 'bending' the opposite direction momentarily. The tissue paper colors, however, leave alot to be desired....
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
first disappointment
PostedMay 19, 2009
Customer avatar
macmoo
from SW Pennsylvania
Occasion:Classroom or daycare
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
This was difficult to take apart and had extra pieces that did not go with the craft. We found the tissue "tiles" very hard to separate with sticky fingers. Also, it was difficult to get the antenae to hold on the mylar part. We managed to get them together, but this was one of the few things I've received that the directions and materials were not the best.
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Not as simple as I thought
PostedMay 10, 2009
Customer avatar
MommyE
from Illinois
Occasion:Other
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
The suncatcher craft is very cute and looks beautiful when finished. My 4 year old was able to glue the tissue paper squares on the butterfly...but the rest of the assembly was all me. The gluing of the edging, pipecleaners, and ribbon were too difficult for her. Because of the different steps of gluing, time needed to be allowed for drying. We did the project over the course of a week. Don't plan on finishing in one day. The finished product is beautiful, all the materials were ready to go (minus the glue), and my daughter was very proud of her handywork! Overall, very happy with product and the price.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Not packaged well!
PostedMay 2, 2009
Customer avatar
Melissa
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I have used quite a few tissue paper crafts with my 2nd graders this year, and this one didn't go well. When I opened the package, the foam borders were all bent up. Other tissue paper crafts come in separate bags for the kids, but these came in one big bag. I actually called and complained, so was reimbursed. Once I was able to sort out the plastic, foam borders (that I had to press with dictionaries to flatten them), and get all of the students their supplies, everything went well. I love the final product on my windows, but I had to waste a lot of time pressing the borders with dictionaries and sort out all of the pieces.
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
fun adult project
PostedFebruary 2, 2009
Customer avatar
activity queen
from Middletown, NY
Occasion:Classroom or daycare
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I use these with adults in our day program and they are good with any level client. They sure save time in preparation.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.