Oriental Trading Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Oriental Trading
Shop Craft & Hobby Supplies_Crafts for Kids_Jewelry Crafts or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit

Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit

Jumbo "How To Pray The Rosary" Craft Kit. Learn "How To Pray The Rosary"! Includes wooden beads and a cross on a 36" cord. Each with a printed card. All craft kit pieces are pre-packaged for individual use. Kits include instructions and extra pieces. Craft Instructions © OTC Age Recommendation: Ages 8 & Up: Containing many pieces of all shapes and sizes and made from a variety of different sturdy materials, some of which include sharp edges or points, including glass beads, ceramics or metals. Activity may require weaving, beadwork, knotting or special glue.
Overall rating:
3.93 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
3
34 of 43(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Review 1 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

A really great kit!!

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
MrsMudd
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The quality of the cord and the consistency in the beads make this kit very user friendly.
Pros: Educational, Assembly, quality, Age appropriateness
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
suemon
Atlanta, GA
 
Please wait while more information about suemon is loaded.
Additional information about suemon could not be loaded.
Great Mission Trip Craft
Posted May 7, 2012
I made this craft with a group of about 35 children ranging in age from 5 to 14 while one mission trip in the Dominican Republic. It was perfect! The older ones helped the younger ones, and having everything pre-packaged made handing out the supplies so easy. I'm thinking about doing it again the next time I go!
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Perfect

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Customer avatar
RMinOH
from Ohio
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I bought these to teach my PSR class about the Rosary and how to pray it. It does need a little supervision to put it together (the spacing of the knots is important). It is perfect for teaching how to pray the rosary... The beads are easy for little fingers to grasp. I did purchase Item #48/6214 the Rosary Bead Box Craft Kit to go with this but it is a little too big for the box. You can get it in if you have patience and maneuver it carefully.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

My class really enjoyed this activity!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Pegster18
from Indianapolis, IN
Occasion:Classroom or daycare
Interests:Education Planning
Number of Kids:More than 6
Age of Oldest Child:10-12
Age of Youngest Child:7-9
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I ordered these for my 4th grade class as we are studying and learning about the Rosary. The kids were so excited and anxious to start putting them together. A few problems though. The "string" included with the kit was too short for many to complete. So I ended up using yarn to supplement the difference. The ends of the string easily unraveled as the kids worked to push them through the beads. A better solution would be to have a shoelace type of end on both ends of the string. I ended up using masking tape to "roll" the ends so they could be pushed through the beads. The only other complaint I have is the directions. They are confusing to say the least. I would suggest a step 1, step 2, step 3 for setting up the cross and first section of the beads. It was confusing about attaching the cross. We did the best we could, and the kids loved doing it as well. I'd do it again after making some changes.
Pros: Educational
Cons: Assembly
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Bright and Colorful!

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
baharris53
from Inland Empire, California
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Interests:Sunday School/VBS Planning
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I purchased these beads for a Messy Church project. We will modify the packages for Anglican beads. The beads are perfect for little hands and I imagine older arthritic ones as well! they are easy to assemble and will work perfectly for my project.
Pros: Educational, Assembly, quality, Age appropriateness
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Very Happy with Purchase!

PostedJune 25, 2013
Customer avatar
DianeJ
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Interests:Sunday School/VBS Planning
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Rather than run around to find all the bits and pieces to make rosaries, I ordered from Oriental Trading and was pleased with their ready made packages. After following the enclosed instructions I found that the enclosed cord was not long enough....t'was good for about 4 decades but no room for the 5th. Also, I found that the cording was a little on the thin side and I had to make double knots as the holes in the beads were so large. The simple remedy was to get a heavier cording and I was all set. I was surprised to see that the kits included little clasps that you're supposed to add in somewhere after the 3rd decade...like a necklace gizmo. I simply don't know what that was for as I was taught that you are not supposed to wear the rosary as jewelry, so shouldn't need this. However, I AM curious as to why it was included....does anyone know?
Bottom line is that I'm very happy with the kits but hope that the manufacturer will improve the cord width and length in future.
Thanks once again Oriental Trading! I love your stuff and it saves me a pile of time.
Pros: Educational, Age appropriateness, great size for kids
Cons: might be a tad difficult for really little kids
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
hellobubbles
Omaha
 
Please wait while more information about hellobubbles is loaded.
Additional information about hellobubbles could not be loaded.
Plastic clasp question answered.....
Posted May 16, 2014
The plastic 'clasp' is included in the kit as a safety feature. So if the rosary is worn as a necklace it would easily breakaway if pulled.
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

don't buy!!!

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
3rdgrdccdteacher
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Price 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Quality 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
When my 7th grader was in 3rd grade I made these with the ccd class and they were amazing! The cord was tough to get through the beads because it was flexible but with some effort the rosary came out beautiful and my son still has it. Today I used it for my younger son's 3rd grade CCD class that I teach. The cord is much sturdier and able to go through the beads without breaking up. The main problem is that the cord supplied is NOT long enough so the project is a bust and the kids worked so hard (tied all those knots) only to end up with an unfinished and now USELESS incomplete rosary! So upset for these students and as a teacher I am sad that they won't have a rosary as planned.
DO NOT BUY UNTIL THEY FIX THE PROBLEM!!!!!!
Pros: Educational, quality, Age appropriateness
Cons: Assembly, cant complete with cord provided
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DianeJ
 
Please wait while more information about DianeJ is loaded.
Additional information about DianeJ could not be loaded.
You're correct but it's Fixable.
Posted June 23, 2013
I too purchased these rosaries for VBS and found that the cord was not long enough. Fortunately I made a sample before giving them to the children.The cord was so thin that you had to make double knots so that they wouldn't slip thru the large holes in the beads! However, I found some thicker nylon cording that works perfectly. You can also burn the ends so there is no unravelling. I agree the company needs to fix the cord length problem.
I was also wondering why there was a clasp gizmo included in the kit...I've never seen a rosary that wasn't permanently fixed all the way around. They are not supposed to be worn as necklaces. Does anyone know?
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

PERFECT PURCHASE

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
SHESFROMBOSTON
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USE THESE EVERY YEAR FOR MY RELIGIOUS EDUCATION CLASS - THEY ARE PERFECT!!
Pros: Child's Favorite, Age appropriateness
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Need Prep time

PostedMay 3, 2012
Customer avatar
JSP9
Occasion:Classroom or daycare
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
You need to take time before the class to make sure you have all the beads and they holes are open/wide enough. Also, sometimes difficult to thread rope through beads.
Pros: nice product
Cons: Assembly
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Perfect craft for teaching the rosary

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Customer avatar
cupcakes
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I bought these for my 3rd grade Sunday school class. The beads are a great size and the colors were nice and bright. I made up a separate little booklet for the kids to bring home to practice their prayers while they use this. This is a very nice keepsake that the kids enjoyed making. It seems pretty durable too.
Pros: quality, Age appropriateness
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Worst purchase ever

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Customer avatar
cbueti
Occasion:Classroom or daycare
Price 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Quality 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I teach CCD to 5th Graders. We have a class of 19 children only 4 children could finish this rosary. The holes in the beads were not big enough for both wires to get through. We started taping the ends of the wires so we could get it through the beads. Also the wires should be a ilittle longer. I was very disappointed with this product.
Cons: Assembly, quality, wires too short
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

These work up nicely

PostedJune 20, 2011
Customer avatar
VBSTXMom
from Texas
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Order extra kits, because some of the beads were a bit disfigured, and we had to open additional packages to replace the beads. It does come with additional beads and cord, but the beads were not in all the colors. Cord was just barely enough to finish comfortably, so make sure the 2 knots are very close together. Age group with knot assistance, about Kindergarten through 3. Age group that should be able to accomplish this alone, probably some 3rd graders and up. Project took about 25 - 40 minutes for the children to complete. Overall, the children were very happy with their project.
Pros: Educational, Assembly, quality, Child's Favorite, Age appropriateness
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Just what expected

PostedApril 22, 2011
Customer avatar
jead619
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Our 5th grade made 60 of these for the 2nd grade and they were just as described. There were a some beads that were unusable but the extra parts were very helpful. Be sure to the cross, not the hard end! Colors great for younger kids, a little older for the making of them since there is a lot of knot tying.
Pros: Assembly
Cons: bright colors not good for older kids
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LynnM
Chandler, AZ
 
Please wait while more information about LynnM is loaded.
Additional information about LynnM could not be loaded.
Challenging for new third graders
Posted September 25, 2013
My third grade class (in September) was quite challenged by the knot tying and only one child of 18 was able to complete the rosary in 35 minutes. They also lacked the dexterity to make the knots close together and ran out of cord. We threw out the clasp as the rosary is not supposed to be used as jewelery (and it just uses up more cord) and I eventually told the kids to skip the knots and just string the beads.
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 13 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great item for teaching the Rosary

PostedMarch 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Angelface1
from Texas
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I have used these kits for the last 4 years in my First Communion class. I recommend checking all the kits first as some of the cords are frayed and some wooden holes need to be made larger. I eliminate the knots between the decades to ease the use for the kids. I also wrap the end of each cord with tape to make it easier to tread the beads as fraying is an issue. Other teachers have seen this project and included it in their classes. Parents love the fact that is large enough for the kids to manipulate.
Pros: Educational, Age appropriateness, easy manipulation for 2nd grade hands, great teaching tool for the rosary
Cons: Assembly, quality, fraying rope, beads with inconsistant holes
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great item for older kids or patient younger one

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Reggi
from Inglewood, CA
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I loved this item, the beads were colorful, the cord sturdy and the instructions easy to understand.
Cons:
-Some beads did not have holes that were the same size all the way through or were blocked with paint. You'll need an eyeglass screwdriver or skinny BBQ skewer to clear out all the holes.
-If you make knots big enough to keep the Our Father beads from sliding around, you will probably run out of cord. As one reviewer mentioned, the Rosaries work just fine without knots every decade :)
Pros:
- Made a test run and completed one in 20 minutes from start to finish.
- Beads are colorful and easy to handle, did not notice any paint wearing off
- It is cheaper to buy this set and extra cord or yarn from a craft store than trying to make a kit yourself
- Extra cord (1 long one) and beads (5 or 6) included
My class has a few 8 year-olds as well as pre-teens, so while I think the older kids would have done this without a problem, we will have the younger kids make the Cross Key chains and them present them with Rosaries we've already made, so that way, the younger kids can have something to do while the older kids make their own Rosaries and in the end everyone has a Rosary!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome project

PostedNovember 26, 2010
Customer avatar
DREofShawnee
from Shawnee, KS
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been using this kit for the past 4 years with my 2nd graders as a station at a retreat for them. They love it!! Great family project, too.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Awful

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Customer avatar
gasman
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Price 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Quality 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I had my whole Sunday school class excited for weeks about making rosaries. The threads were all frayed and could not be fit into the beads. My kids were plenty old enough to perform this task (8-12 years old) if not for the frayed ends. Everyone very disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

DO NOT USE

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Customer avatar
rtcall
from Texas
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
We bought 8 dozen. We found that the smaller age children could not do the knots, so we made all of rosaries without the knots and they looked so much better.
However, out of 96 kits only 22 of them we clean. The rest had black stuff (not mold) all over the beads and a stinky powery substance all over the cord. One kit even had what appeared to be gum all over the beads and cross. We did not have time to send the kits back. So, we tried cleaning the beads, it did not help. The black stuff was in the paint and the wood. We ended up pouring all the kits into bowls and seperating the colors and handing out only the cleaner beads. We were very embarrassed.
The kits that were clean, turned out the be very pretty rosaries. The kids can learn easily on them.
I would not recommend this product again. :-((
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great buy

PostedJuly 12, 2010
Customer avatar
maggirls
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I teach CCD and I was looking for a rosary that little fingers could use. Some of the beads may be a little misshapen...but for the money and the size of the rosary itself - it's no big deal. So far none of the beads are missing and the package even came with extra ones, just on case. I love this buy!!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

perfect project for pk-6th

PostedJune 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Crazyforcrafts
from Alpharetta Georgia
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We just used these wonderful Rosary Beads yesterday for 500 children ages 4 -11. We preknotted the cross at the end and did not use the knots in between the decades. Then we knotted it after the they strung the entire Rosary. This took between 10-20 minutes depending on the ages of the kids. We did have some faulty beads and kits with missing beads, but used paper clip and scissors to fix and had extra kits to supplement. Some kids decorated their cross with Sharpies. What a great project that the children can treasure for a long time. For about .80 per kit! Thanks OT!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Jumbo "How To Pray the Rosary" Craft Kit
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

TIPS N TRICKS WHEN USING THIS KIT!

PostedMay 8, 2010
Customer avatar
MissCreativity
from Portland, Oregon
Occasion:Beading
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I make and sell beaded jewelry professionally and have worked with many different types of beads.
I have not bought this kit personally but have made necklaces and bracelets using wood beads and this type of cord.
(SO ALWAYS BE AWARE OF THIS) All wood beads no matter if you buy them from OTC, or in a craft store will not be all the same size in any package you buy. Some will be round, others will be oval and some will be bigger then others. All sides will very raraly be smooth, some sides will be rough, flat, bumpy and missing some paint if they are colored. The hole size is always made large and usually you will have to poke out some extra wood in the middle to get your string through.
Unfortunately that's just how these beads are made. Wood beads are great for kids to use with their small hands. I would recommend using (stretch cord) with children because it's easy to tie knots, doesn't hurt your hands and the length of what you're making is ajustable. I use it when making all my beacelets and necklaces.
(THE PROVIDED CORD) I can see why other reviewers are having problems tying knots with this cord. I have used it and I don't like it at all. OTC really not only should of provided a cord that is at least 40" long but in my opinion one that is softer to work with and doesn't fray so easily at the ends.
(As an alternative to using cord) Use curling ribbion instead. It has no stretch to it once you deside on the final length, but works well for stringing beads.
(A KNOT TRICK) When tying knots in jewelry cords if you don't have a "beading plyers" on hand try this alternative. Instead you can hold your open knot hole open with a sharpend pencil end and move it down to where you want your knot to go. Make sure you use a regular pencil, not a mechanical one and the end is not super sharp. The softer and thicker the cord, the easier it will be to maneuver the knot down to where you want it before pulling it tight.
I also think using plastic round beads for this project would work a lot better. Plastic beads come in a huge variety of colors, very inexpensive, are easy to handle, and are all the same size.
This is a very nice project with a few minor ajustments, I think it would be PERFECT!
:)
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>