Overall rating 
4.1 / 5
4.1 / 5
(11)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Overall rating 
4.1 / 5
4.1 / 5
(11)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
DIY Wood Sailboat Kits Product Reviews
Click on filters to refine your results.
Ratings summary
Overall rating 
4.1 / 5
4.1 / 5
(11)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Authentic Reviews Authentic Reviews
Tags
and Pros
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
andCons
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
Advanced filters
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
Click on filters to refine your results.
Product ReviewsReview This Product
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Kids loved it
PostedMarch 16, 2017
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about MindyD is loaded.
Additional information about MindyD could not be loaded.
from Northeastern Pennsylvania
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Interests:Other
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Used this craft in our Sunday School for children in grades K - 6th. Craft fit together well, although we did use just a dab of glue in each hole as a precaution. The kids used fabric markers to draw on the sails to make each boat unique. The kids really enjoyed this craft!
Pros: Age appropriateness, Assembly, Child's Favorite, quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Perfect project
PostedOctober 19, 2017
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about BirthdayPartyMama is loaded.
Additional information about BirthdayPartyMama could not be loaded.
I bought these for an activity at my daughters birthday party. They were easy to put together with minimal help from parents and once together the kids had fun crashing and rebuilding them. No complaints here!
Pros: Age appropriateness, Assembly, Child's Favorite, quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Somewhat disappointed in assembly
PostedJuly 24, 2017
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about grdkids is loaded.
Additional information about grdkids could not be loaded.
from pa
I took one out of the package. the pegs in the square top piece did not fit. I had to drill the holes (in all twelve) in the bottom bigger so that the pegs would fit. Then some of the pegs would not let the square sit flat. So had to sand them down. It is to be a camp project and the grandkids would have been upset if the pieces had not fit properly.
Cons: Assembly, having to make adjustments
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Cute but...
PostedJuly 20, 2017
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about Lamykin3 is loaded.
Additional information about Lamykin3 could not be loaded.
from CA
We ordered over 300 of these for a vbs project but at least 20 of them couldn't be put together because the holes didn't line up. Great idea and cute project just wish we didn't have to scrap so many of them.
Cons: quality
Response from Oriental TradingBy Quality Assurance DepartmentAugust 10, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your insight into ways that we can improve your experience with Oriental Trading Company. We are committed to delivering fun, safe and affordable products to help make your celebrations and big occasions even more special. If you would like to speak to a representative about a no-hassle exchange or a full refund for your DIY Wood Sailboat Kits, please give us a call at 1-800-228-2269.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
So much fun for the kids
PostedJune 11, 2017
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about Mkindenver is loaded.
Additional information about Mkindenver could not be loaded.
from Denver, CO
I bought these boats for my grand daughter's birthday and for my preschool classroom. They are definitely too difficult for preschoolers and kindergartners to put together. I put together with hot glue guns. . . they work great but when they were wet, they came unglued. The kids LOVED decorating the boats and sails with permanent markers and sailing them in water, until they came apart. I would definitely buy again, but would find a waterproof glue.
Pros: Child's Favorite, quality, great to play with
Cons: Age appropriateness, Assembly, need waterproof glue
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Buyer beware
PostedJuly 22, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about MrsRev2 is loaded.
Additional information about MrsRev2 could not be loaded.
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
We purchased four dozen of these sailboats for a VBS craft. Our intention was that the kids would put them together one day and decorate them the next, thus filling two days of VBS crafts. When our crafts director tried to assemble one for a sample she encountered several issues. First the holes were not drilled in the proper place and second glue was needed to hold the pieces together (the need for glue was not mentioned in the advertising). We ended up having various church members take them home to assemble. They reported that while some boats fit together easily others had to have holes re-drilled and plenty of glue.
Of course because we had to pre-assemble all of the boats we also had to find another craft to do on the second day.
I would not recommend these boats.
Cons: Age appropriateness, Assembly, quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Prep for Sailing
PostedDecember 8, 2015
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about Spacecadet is loaded.
Additional information about Spacecadet could not be loaded.
from Texas
Occasion:Adult party
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Our Youth group worked to put these boats together for our table decorations for a dinner. We glued everything together except for the sail parts and spray painted them white. I had the girls use permanent marker to decorate them including the sails. And assembled the rest. They worked pretty good, some parts were missing, but OT replaced them quickly. My recommendation is to look through your order to be sure that the kits are all there and complete. This will allow OT ample time to replace items if needed.
Pros: quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
easy to put together
PostedMay 15, 2015
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about navydiva is loaded.
Additional information about navydiva could not be loaded.
Occasion:Children's games and activities
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Kindergarten through 3rd grade made these to sail in rain gutters while 4th through 12th grade got to Kayak. The girls were very happy.
Pros: quality, Assembly, Age appropriateness
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Great for older kids
PostedNovember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about chicky58 is loaded.
Additional information about chicky58 could not be loaded.
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
These turn out really cute. Due to limited craft time (20 min). I plan to use as a 2 day craft. Painting on day 1 and gluing together on day 2. They are quick and easy to put together with the insert pegs and a little wiggling. The only drawback was that the muslin sail tend to bleed into the fabric grain so letters tend to look a little blurry, and the cube tends to slide down the mast. I fixed this by putting a dab of glue on the mast, sliding the cube back over the glue and then putting a clothes pin below the cube to hold it in place until the glue dried.
Pros: Assembly, quality, Age appropriateness
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
requires a little prep
PostedAugust 8, 2013
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about jeminijackson is loaded.
Additional information about jeminijackson could not be loaded.
from Pensacola, FL
Occasion:Children's party
these are fun when they are finished being assembled and more for 10 and older kids. the parts need to be glued so consider drying time and the sail is wrinkled from packaging so maybe use wrinkle releaser before giving it to be decorated. otherwise we used paint and permanent markers to decorate and turned out really cute. ..... not good for floating in the water.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
  • 2017-12-17 T11:49:54.186-06:00
  • bvseo_pps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_48_3633, prod, sort_default
1 2 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.