Overall rating 
4.2 / 5
4.2 / 5
(61)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 stars
42
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Price 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Quality 
3.9 / 5
3.9 / 5
45 of 56(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Overall rating 
4.2 / 5
4.2 / 5
(61)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 stars
42
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Price 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Quality 
3.9 / 5
3.9 / 5
45 of 56(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Product Reviews
Click on filters to refine your results.
Ratings summary
Overall rating 
4.2 / 5
4.2 / 5
(61)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 stars
42
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Price 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Quality 
3.9 / 5
3.9 / 5
45 of 56(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Authentic Reviews Authentic Reviews
Tags
and Pros
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
and Cons
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
  • and
Advanced filters
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
and Price
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
Click on filters to refine your results.
Product ReviewsReview This Product
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
So much Fun!
PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about PrekMomma is loaded.
Additional information about PrekMomma could not be loaded.
Occasion:Reunion
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The kids at our family reunion LOVED these. Simple to assemble. Easy to teach them how to take flight! Watch the arrows and spin them that way. We had some go 30-40 feet in the air, and up to 100 feet. This one was a BIG hit, and for little money too! The age range was 4 yrs. to 12 yrs.
Pros: Assembly, quality, Child's Favorite, Age appropriateness
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
FUN!!
PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about prairegirl is loaded.
Additional information about prairegirl could not be loaded.
My 10 year old son picked these out as a party favor for the Valentine's day party at school. He was insistent that we not have something too girly. Dad loves these too. He and my son come up with different challenges and games they can do with the dragon fly. Also, well made and easy to assemble.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Old fashioned stick and balsam propeller was better product
PostedJuly 23, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about LadyNoble is loaded.
Additional information about LadyNoble could not be loaded.
from Waterville, ME
Occasion:Children's games and activities
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
The shafts did not fit securely into the propeller wings. The ridges on the plastic shaft did not help to get the motion going fast very well at all. The dragonflies left the hand and broke apart, did not fly and/or flew up once then plummeted - a very disappointing experience for little ones who were eager to see them fly and for the adults to see the joy of the children using the toy over and over again because it might have been really exciting. NOT.
Pros: Age appropriateness
Cons: Assembly, quality
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Everyone loves the Whirrley once they see it work
PostedMay 24, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about MariaPTA is loaded.
Additional information about MariaPTA could not be loaded.
Occasion:Children's games and activities
Number of Kids:3
Age of Oldest Child:15-18
Age of Youngest Child:7-9
This was the hit of our street fair. Once we showed the kids how it worked, everyone wanted one. So simple, great colors, totally fun
Pros: quality, Assembly, Age appropriateness, Child's Favorite
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
So disappointed
PostedMay 15, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about CodyWoman is loaded.
Additional information about CodyWoman could not be loaded.
from Cody, WY
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Price 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Quality 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have ordered these "Flying Dragonflies" in past years and the children in my religion class have had so much fun with them. But the shipment I received this year was terrible! The stick wouldn't fit on half of them. Luckily I had a lot extra so as fast as children were coming up to me telling me that they couldn't assemble their toy, I was handing them a new one to try. It did not make our last class of the school year end on a good note, only a frustrating one.
Cons: quality
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Response from Oriental TradingBy Quality Assurance DepartmentJune 20, 2016
We don’t like that our Flying Dragonflies let you down. Since we like smiles, (smiling’s our favorite) we’re always committed to making you happy and we appreciate feedback that will help us get better. If you are not 100% completely psyched with your order, just give us a shout at 1-800-228-2269 and we will turn that frown upside down with a no hassle exchange or refund. We hope to see you soon!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Easter gifts
PostedApril 30, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about Chattyk is loaded.
Additional information about Chattyk could not be loaded.
from Fredericktown, MO
Occasion:VBS or Sunday School
Interests:Sunday School/VBS Planning
Number of Kids:More than 6
Age of Oldest Child:10-12
Age of Youngest Child:3-4
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I bought these to pass out to children after our Easter egg hunt at church, we always have a lot of visiting children on Easter and there was plenty to go around and they can be used by most all ages and the kids loved them.
Pros: quality, Assembly, Age appropriateness, Child's Favorite
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Toddlers Loved them!
PostedMarch 25, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about Texasgrrl is loaded.
Additional information about Texasgrrl could not be loaded.
from Houston
Occasion:Children's party
Interests:Family Fun Activities
Number of Kids:2
Age of Oldest Child:3-4
Age of Youngest Child:1-2
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
We got these to go in the favor bags for our playgroup Easter Party. And though most of the toddlers can't quite do it on their own yet, they got a huge kick out of watching the parents do it. I'm going to order some jsut to have on hand in the car through the summer. Easy fun toy to have stashed in the glove box or purse. Quality is decent for what it is.
Pros: quality, Assembly, Age appropriateness, Child's Favorite
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Better quality than most, and cheap
PostedMarch 21, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about MarronGrosbec is loaded.
Additional information about MarronGrosbec could not be loaded.
from Monterey, CA
Occasion:Classroom or daycare
Interests:Education Planning
Number of Kids:None
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I've been buying dragonflies (propellers on a stick that fly on hand-power) for almost 10 years and use them every year in multiple uses. For a child who has never looked closely at a propeller before, it is a good way to help them develop intuition. But these are great toys, too, even for adults. Every year I give some to undergraduate interns visiting our institute over summer, and they always have fun with them. It is easy to come up with simple games of skill like trying to get them into a wastebasket from 10' away.
In past years, I've bought some lower quality dragonflies, also from Oriental Trading. The quality control was low, so only about half of them would actually work, and 10% would work very well. But they were so cheap it didn't matter.
These are a bit more expensive but are better quality. Firstly, they are bigger/heavier than the old ones, so they fly better. They're made of thicker plastic so they hold their shape better, resulting in many more good ones.
My only complaint is that the propeller design is crude and inefficient. With a small change in the manufacturing process (using differently shaped molds) the attack angle of the propeller could be decreased which would increase efficiency and flying power by at least 2x, which would greatly improve the wow! factor. As they are, they generate lots of turbulence at large radii and you can hear it. The best dragonflies can be almost silent.
Overall, these are a good bargain and sure to please. I have successfully entertained kids from ages 5 - 65 with these toys. They're a great way to play the "cool uncle" at holiday parties.
Pros: quality, Age appropriateness, Educational, Child's Favorite, adult's favorite
Cons: poor propeller design weakens their appeal
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Just Okay
PostedMarch 14, 2016
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about clee5335 is loaded.
Additional information about clee5335 could not be loaded.
Occasion:Children's games and activities
Number of Kids:5
Age of Oldest Child:Over 18
Age of Youngest Child:Over 18
Price 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Quality 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
The flying dragons are not as good as they used to be. The stick is very hard to get in and some of them don't fly high like they used to.
Pros: Child's Favorite
Cons: quality
No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Kids love them!
PostedDecember 22, 2015
Customer avatar
 
Please wait while more information about Barefoot is loaded.
Additional information about Barefoot could not be loaded.
from Montana
Occasion:Children's games and activities
Interests:Family Fun Activities
Number of Kids:More than 6
Age of Oldest Child:15-18
Age of Youngest Child:3-4
Price 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Quality 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've purchased these a couple of times and they are always a big hit. Easy to use, good teaching tool, and kids get exercise too!
Pros: quality, Assembly, Age appropriateness, Educational, Child's Favorite
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
  • 2016-07-28 T19:11:14.688-05:00
  • bvseo_pps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_61, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_16_164, prod, sort_default
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.